Stream of Consciousness and Coldplay make for a Heady Combination

Ever had a day when you find yourself pondering over random thoughts that lead you to a series of connected thoughts? Stream of Consciousness, as it is called in literary terms, is a narrative mode or device that depicts the multitudinous thoughts and feelings which pass through the mind. It is also known as “Interior Monologue”, many classic authors used this technique in their literary masterpieces.

Well, I am having such a day. And listening to Coldplay is only aggravating this situation, not that I am complaining! Coldplay songs not only soothe me, but also make me serene and thoughtful. Their songs have beautiful melodic tunes, calm tones, and very thought provoking lyrics. Plus Chris Martin’s beautiful soft voice is haunting and tranquil. Their songs are great for soul searching and motivation. And I can’t pinpoint only one song, all of their songs have that effect. Although it’s their latest offering called, “Up and Up”, that actually got me into this whole mood.

“We’re gonna get it, get it together right now

Gonna get it, get it together somehow

 Gonna get it, get it together and flow

 We’re gonna get it, get it together, I know

 Gonna get it, get it together and flow

 Gonna get it, get it together and go

 Up and up and up.

When you’re in pain, when you think you’ve had enough

 Don’t ever give up

 Don’t ever give up”

This song made me think about Roger Federer. Okay, yes, He is always on my mind, but I had been thinking about his recent injury and illness bouts and his first withdrawal from a Grand Slam in 17 years. He has a record of playing 65 consecutive Grand Slams in his entire career. And that streak just came to an end. Sure it is almost impossible for anyone to break that streak but it’s still very difficult to fathom a Slam without him. There was a really nice article even on this with the hashtag #WhenFedererLastMissedASlam. I just keep on wishing that he recovers soon and gets back to his winning ways in the upcoming Grass Season. Roger is gonna get it together and he will go up and up and up and he will never give up.

And just then Coldplay’s song called “A sky Full of Stars” began playing, which led me to think about the Masterchef Australia episode I watched last night…

I am a foodie! Food occupies a huge space in my mind. But this thought wasn’t so much about the food, as it was about the show itself. The contestants who leave their various jobs and monthly salaries for following their dreams. That takes guts! I know it! My dad left his job to become a full time artist, a field where money is an unstable element. But my parents did it, they made it on their own, despite all the initial struggles or even going through a painful field of landmine that was my brother’s terminal illness. They lost a son, but kept on soldiering on for me, so that I could have a life. I am digressing… Here’s what I was really thinking: Masterchef Australia might be a reality show, but the way it is presented is amazing. The judges are never too harsh on the contestants, they put it up straight, but tactfully. They know that the contestants are amateurs and they realize that they are bound to make mistakes. They actually mentor these people, even if they cook badly, they tell them that it’s ok and they just need to pull up their socks and work harder. We’re a sky full of stars and we do light up the path…

The next track on my playlist was written and produced by Chris Martin along with Timbaland for Nelly Furtado, it is called “All Good Things Come to an End.” Chris also harmonized throughout the song with Nelly’s haunting vocals.

“Flames to dust,

 Lovers to friends,

 Why do all good things come to an end?

 Come to an end, come to an,

 Why do all good things come to an end?

 Come to an end, come to an,

 Why do all good things come to an end?”

Which brought me to the thought of the show Castle series finale. It ended unexpectedly and it is one of my favorite shows. I am so sad to see it end; I cannot believe I will not get to watch the ruggedly handsome Castle pitching his crazy geeky theories about the weird crimes, the ever skeptical Captain Beckett dismissing these theories and use her amazing detective skills to solve them, Detectives Ryan and Esposito having their fun at Castle’s expense but respecting him all the while, Lanie being her sassy self, Martha giving her Martha-isms and Alexis being the headstrong and smart daughter of Castle, and the duo of “Caskett”, wowing us with their team work and their beautiful and sweet love story. Why do all good things come to an end?

Well, there was one end that was exciting. Legends of Tomorrow aired its season 1 finale, and as much as this show ran off course for a bit before coming back on track, the cliffhanger was the most exciting. Introducing Rex Tyler from the Justice Society of America promises a much better season 2 up ahead. And Patrick J. Adams (from the show Suits) is playing Rex which makes this a doubly exciting venture. Let’s hope season 2 is more stable and kickass.

Which brings me to the eagerly awaited The Flash finale, Zoom vs. The Flash; it will definitely kick ass…

Ohh… speaking of kicking ass, the X-men kicked Apocalypse’s ass! Apocalypse and his 4 horsemen were awesome, especially Magneto. But the X-men, and especially Quicksilver kicked their ass back. Though the intensity of emotions in this movie remind me of the song Miracles by Coldplay, which was a soundtrack for the amazing touching story of Unbroken, about an Olympic athlete who could not be broken in a concentration camp.

“From up above I heard

 The angels sing to me these words.

 And sometimes in your eyes

 I see the beauty in the world.

 Oh, now I’m floating so high.

 I blossom and die.

 Send your storm and your lightning to strike

 Me between the eyes,

 Eyes”

Call it rambling, call it stream of consciousness, this is what my mind was doing. And writing this blog actually got me organized. And trust Coldplay to invade my mind at the strangest of times and make me feel nice and motivated.

“I, oh, I, oh
Got me feeling drunk and high
So high, so high
I, oh, I, oh, I, oh
Now I’m feeling drunk and high
So high, so high
Woo!”

6 thoughts on “Stream of Consciousness and Coldplay make for a Heady Combination

  1. I enjoyed reading your stream of consciousness post, even thought it jumped about a lot (which I guess is what consciousness does). I don’t know Masterchef Australia, I’m afraid, but I like the idea of a show that gives feedback to the contestants reasonably gently. I know shows with sarcastic and cruel judges are all the rage these days, but I really don’t care for them. It just seems like another form of bullying to me. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Funny… I replied to your comment and it’s not showing up now… :0

      My comment was somewhat like this:

      Ohh yaaa… I ramble a lot in my mind, especially when Im nervous about something… probably to get rid of the anxiety, my mind floods itself with a myriad of thoughts… 😛 Glad you liked the post despite its chaos. 🙂

      I agree with you, what the judges do on other reality shows is indeed bullying. I watch only one reality show, Masterchef Australia. 🙂 That’s its USP I think. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m sorry about your original answer disappearing, Sampada. The exact same thing has happened to me before when answering posts. A little later, I’ve gone back to look over the site, but the reply has completely gone! Perhaps somebody is stealing them.

        Anyway, I enjoyed your post even though it was a stream of consciousness one. It covered a lot of ground so it was fun to read. 🙂

        Like

  2. Sam, I loved this piece. It engrossed me entirely and without warning, drawing me in with the magic of its coherence, and keeping me captivated by the power of its content. I am officially a fan of your writing. 😊

    And let’s not get started on Coldplay. We both know how influential they are to us both. 😍

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

