Hope, Move Ahead, Continue, Don’t Ever Give Up, Keep Calm and Keep Swimming!

image

Have you ever been on the cusp of an achievement but somehow lost it to an unknown opponent at the last minute? Or you know you are about to lose it and you feel helpless. How do you deal with it? Do you become pessimistic and feel you are doomed? Or do you feel optimistic and hopeful and feel that there is something greater beyond this debacle?

Hope is a funny concept. It asks you to keep it within you till the last moment. But when that moment comes and goes, it still asks you to stick with it. It encourages you to hang on, and when you fall, it still asks you to keep it. You might be at the edge of the world and about to fall off, it still asks you to keep it. It keeps telling you that something better is around the corner, and yet when that elusive “Better”, does not even show up, it asks you to keep it. Why does it do that? Oops, did I say funny? I meant annoying. Hope is this clingy chap who refuses to let go and let you just bash up someone when you need to vent and release all your emotions.

Life is indeed full of disappointments and lost battles; every time you think you have it made, you fumble or the carpet beneath your feet gets pulled. But how do you rise up? How do you fight for your survival? How is keeping that clingy chap hope going to help?

Well, that comes from within you. You may need help, maybe some much needed pep talks from the people around you, or maybe a creative outlet or doing something that makes you happy. I have four ways of tackling my bouts of negativity. One is writing, another is watching Roger Federer videos and another is listening to songs with inspiring lyrics and lastly food, lots of it. Sometimes I may need a dose of all.

And hope means never stop fighting, keep fighting for your survival. No matter how many times you fall, hope will help you get back up and kick the universe’s ass. We need hope to be clingy, that’s how it was designed and that’s how we can survive.

I write when I am frustrated, I pour out all my feelings in writing. When I am done, I always feel a little light. Not that I would post all that junk anywhere online, but it could be like a personal diary which I delete after writing. I have a few friends who write some amazing poetry for every emotion they feel, but I am better at prose, poetry is not my cup of tea.

By now everyone knows my love for Federer; watching his Wimbledon videos beat the crap out of the negativity in me.

Food is always my companion; I cannot control my cravings!

When it comes to songs, I have an entire playlist of inspirational songs that I keep on my phone. But the one song that really gives me a lot of strength is David Guetta and Sia’s Titanium; the lyrics and Sia’s voice resonate deep within my soul.

“I’m bulletproof, nothing to lose
Fire away, fire away
Ricochet, you take your aim
Fire away, fire away
You shoot me down but I won’t fall
I am titanium
You shoot me down but I won’t fall
I am titanium!”

There is another song that really gets to me. It’s called “You are loved (Don’t give up)” by Josh Groban. Josh has a God Gifted talent. His tenor voice just melts my heart and the lyrics of this song are truly amazing and inspiring.

“Don’t give up
It’s just the weight of the world
When your heart’s heavy
I…I will lift it for you
Don’t give up
Because you want to be heard
If silence keeps you
I…I will break it for you
Everybody wants to be understood
Well I can hear you
Everybody wants to be loved
Don’t give up
Because you are loved”

I also always remember this gem of wisdom from Finding Nemo, when Marlin is sad and Dory says to him:

“Hey there Mr. Grumpy Gills! When life gets you down do you wanna know what you’ve gotta do? Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming, swimming, swimming. What do we do? We swim, swim.”

This is a perfect advice. No matter what happens, we have got to keep moving ahead. That’s the only way to live. If something we want doesn’t work out, we have to move on and have faith that something better is definitely out there. If a certain goal has proven to be a setback, find a different goal and work towards it.

image

The above message in French means, “Success is not definitive, failure is not fatal; it is the courage to continue that counts.”

5 thoughts on “Hope, Move Ahead, Continue, Don’t Ever Give Up, Keep Calm and Keep Swimming!

  1. I knew the moments that felt like walking off a cliff. I’ve been just a step from the top, and that step was longer than life itself. What did help me keep moving forward and not fall off? It definitely was “that thing with feathers” called hope.
    Important is that source of saving grace, from which we can take a sip. For me it’s always been Nature, books & music.
    You summed it up very well, Sampada 👍 Putting up your own feelings & experiences make your prose comes closer to each of us. No matter the circumstances that we may be going through, we should keep moving, swimming, flying ⇒ “Every flight begins with a fall” to quote the Three-eyed crow in GOT.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Luda! 🙂 That quote is so true! And that fall actually teaches us a lot of things, which makes the flight all the more sweeter.

      I was going through a bout of negativity but writing this blog gave me perspective. And the thing that was making me negative, worked out for me a day later. So hope is indeed something we need to have; things do fall in place somehow at some point. And that time of limbo, isn’t really limbo, It is like a long winter night. But we all know that a new day will come, the sun will rise; all we need is hope to get through. 🙂

      Like

  2. When things don’t work out, I’m not sure what else we can do but keep on trying. It’s good that you have four different ways of tackling your negativity. Three of them work for me too. I don’t think Roger Federer would, though, because I don’t know much about tennis. (Still, I guess I can never say for sure unless I’ve tried.) Watching movies can also lift my spirits if I’m feeling a bit down. Funnily enough, Pixar ones are good for this. I like to watch them sometimes with my kids.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, that’s true. Though I have seen someone close to me give up hope and take their life. That’s why I have my coping mechanisms and they work for me.

      Pixar movies are great for life-lessons, they are very positive and give out some really much-needed doses of laughter and of nature. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m sorry to hear about that, Sampada. I had a work colleague who unexpectedly took his own life several years ago, leaving a wife and a couple of children. It was heartbreaking, and I’ve often regretted not doing more to help him, but none of us even knew he’d been having problems. It’s so important to talk to others and not keep things bottled up inside.

        I agree with you about Pixar, by the way. I’m looking forward to watching “Finding Dory.” I find it increasingly easy to identify with her memory issues. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

