The 2016 Curse; the Winds of Uncertainty and How to Tide Over Them

2016 has been bad. 2016 needs to be fired and replaced by 2017. I hereby fire 2016 with immediate effect, kindly leave and never come back. And I welcome 2017 with open arms and wish that things change for the better.

If only it were that easy!

That’s how the circle of life works; Good times and bad times keep rolling in constant alternation. Sometimes this becomes overwhelmingly difficult to deal with. This year has been like that. Many of my friends have confided in me that 2016 has been one of the worst years for them.

It hasn’t been the worst for me, but it has posed some serious challenges and it has thrown quite a lot of curve balls at me. Somehow I have been scraping through, ray of sunshine beginning to shine through only recently. It’s still challenging but small resolutions have presented themselves to ease it out just a bit.

The violence and terrorism has increased this year, causing havoc all over the world. There have been close to 30 major terror attacks all around the world, including the Middle East; and only half a year has gone past. Just as I am writing this there was an explosion in Germany. This is just ridiculous! Contrary to the older terror groups, ISIS seems to be targeting smaller targets, to create intense fear and spreading terror all over the world.

The humans all over the world were downright inhuman towards the animals, killing puppies, killing a baby dolphin for a selfie, throwing a dog off a roof, burning stray dogs alive, the list goes on. I cannot even describe what I felt reading these horror stories!

Roger Federer has been suffering from a spate of injuries, which began a day after the Australian Open and he hasn’t caught a break till now. A knee injury and the subsequent surgery, 2 bouts of flus, back issues and then back to the knee injury. He played intermittently with ease but ended up faltering at crucial points. And now he has announced that he would not play for the remainder of the season, which came as an utter shock! We had expected him to take part in his potentially last Olympics. But that won’t happen. What’s more, when he rejoins the tour in 2017, he will be out of top 10 after more than a decade, and that is a thought that is unfathomable. This is when you realize the magnitude of this Man’s achievements, No one can imagine him being out of top 10. He did not win a single title this year, another unfathomable consequence of an injury laden year. He will not make an appearance in the World Tour Finals at the end of the year after 12 consecutive appearances. The consistency with which he has played all these years, this seems like a horror movie.

He has of course exuded a very optimistic attitude in his Facebook post, saying that he is only calling it this season as his Doctor has advised him an extensive rehabilitation and he plans to come back stronger and play attacking tennis in the 2017 season. And it is a smart move on his part. But we fans are just too used to see him play so much that these 5 months without him on tour will seem like a vacuum to us. I don’t even know if I’ll be able to watch tennis, as of now it doesn’t seem to be a possibility. Only now as I am writing this, I feel a sense of positivism that he will surely be back. He is the only one who makes me so emotionally invested in him. That’s his fault though, nobody asked him to be so inspiring and admirable.

Tennis in general has suffered a lot in 2016, with the match fixing scandal and Maria Sharapova doping scandal; it has been tough on tennis this year.

Even the Rio Olympics have been riddled with numerous  problems; the most bizarre things that happened there recently was the kidnapping of a New Zealand athelete and the F1 boss Bernie Ecclestone’s mother-in-law. I seriously have no clue what to make of this. Not to mention so many athletes withdrawing either because of injuries or of the fear of the Zika virus as well as almost the entire Russian contingent being banned because of doping.

This year many celebrities lost their lives, some of them absolute legends who left a huge void; David Bowie, Alan Rickman, Prince, Glenn Frey, Harper Lee, Doris Roberts, Muhammad Ali, Anton Yelchin, to name a few. All of the above, inspired me so much! It was really heart-breaking to know that we had lost such gems. Perhaps Anton Yelchin’s death can be factually associated with the 2016 curse as his death was a freak accident, just like how it was in the Final Destination movies. His own car rolled down and pinned him because of a software glitch resulting in the fatality. Its really weird how such a brilliant young actor lost his life.

2016 will also be really cursed if Trump gets elected. What a scary thought! Though if this happens, we’re heading for not just one year being cursed, but 4 years being cursed.

And there’s still 5 months left for the year to end; but the winds of uncertainty have been blowing off my wits. Things have begun to fall in place for me; but who knows what’s in store for me? Sometimes I feel the more I celebrate a good thing, the more things go wrong for me. So when I got a new job, I felt like it could just go away. It’s only now that since about a fortnight remains for me to start working at the new place, I have begun feeling positive. I was so self-conscious that I only told a handful people of the new job offer. But now I have begun telling everyone that I have taken my career in a proper direction. And I had to really work hard to get this offer; which makes me think I crossed a major hurdle.

I don’t believe in astrology at all, but it looks like 2016 might be cursed after all. Whether or not I really believe in curses, I do feel that this year needs to end fast, so that we can start afresh. It’s like, waiting for the sun to rise, after a long and cold winter night. But till then, how do we deal with the uncertainty? I’ve been told that patience is the key! Somehow we will need to be patient. If the universe is throwing multiple curve balls, then we need to find a way to dodge them. Or if we get hit by them, then just keep getting up. Roger once said that, “I don’t quit mid-match, you gotta drill me one in the eye, then maybe, but otherwise I don’t quit”. That’s what I need to do, what we all need to do.

Enjoying the little, trivial everyday joys, or finding a creative outlet to vent all the anxiety; ought to do the trick. Like a few days back, I went on full geek mode, constantly tweeted and shared the San Diego Comic Con videos and news, watched Star Trek Beyond and totally enjoyed it. I ate all the food I craved to eat, and I even slept for two hours, three days in a row in the office dorms. I am not supposed to do that, but since I am on my notice period and I have no work, I figured what the heck, why not? Patience and Enjoyment; we can make it a mantra or even a rap,

“P & E, are the key, to spend 2016 with glee…”

So this goes out to the victims of the 2016 Curse, we need to find the strength within ourselves and be patient and find happiness in the little everyday things. We need to show these terrorists that no matter what they do, they can never drown our spirits. I wish that all the people who died in these senseless attacks are up there in Heaven and enjoying a better time than here on Earth. I wish the laws against such horrible animal cruelty become really stringent. And I wish Roger gets better soon and comes back on tour with a bang in 2017.

And I hope 2017 proves to be a better company and it doesn’t get influenced in any way by 2016.

4 thoughts on “The 2016 Curse; the Winds of Uncertainty and How to Tide Over Them

  1. I thought I’d replied to this post already, Sampada, but I may just have read it and then got sidetracked somehow. I’m sorry to hear 2016 has been a poor year in a number of ways, but like you say, there’s still a good bit of it left, so there’s still time for improvement! Anyway, let’s hope 2017 is a great year for all of us. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

